Justice Pradeep Nandrajog sworn in as Chief Justice of Bombay High Court

    Publish Date: April 7, 2019

    Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court, Justice Pradeep Nandrajog was sworn in as the Chief Justice of the Bombay High Court on Sunday (7th April).

    Maharashtra Governor CH. Vidyasagar Rao administered the oath of office to Justice Pradeep Nandrajog at a brief swearing in ceremony held at Raj Bhavan, Mumbai.

    The Swearing in Ceremony started with the playing of the National Anthem. Chief Secretary U P S Madan then read out the Notification of Appointment of the Chief Justice.

    After the signing of the Oath by the Chief Justice and the Governor, the Governor and Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis presented bouquets of flowers to the new Chief Justice.

    The ceremony concluded with the playing of the National Anthem by the Police Band once again.

    Minister for Higher and Technical Education Vinod Tawde, Mayor of Mumbai Vishwanath Mahadeshwar, judges of the Bombay High Court, retired Chief Justice Mohit Shah, Lokayukta M.L. Tahaliyani, judges of Rajasthan High Court, State Chief Commissioner, Right to Services Swadhin Kshatriya, Senior member of MPSC Chandrashekhar Oak, Advocate General Ashutosh Kumbhakoni, Commissioner of Police Mumbai Sanjay Barve and senior government officials were present.

    Justice Pradeep Nandrajog (b. 24 February 1958) obtained his LLB and was enrolled as an Advocate with the Bar Council of Delhi in 1981.

    As a lawyer, he specialized in arbitration, commercial matters, Service matters, company matters, land revenue, elections, etc. He served as a Counsel for the Municipal Corporation of Delhi for about 6 years and was nominated Counsel for the Election Commission of the Government of National Capital Region Delhi for about 2 years.

    Justice Nandrajog was elevated as an Additional Judge of the Delhi High Court on 20th December 2012. He was appointed as Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court on 2 April 2017. Justice Nandrajog succeeded Justice Naresh Patil who retired as Chief Justice of Bombay High Court on 6th April 2019.