Governor calls upon Vice Chancellors to make Universities ‘Centres of Excellence’

    Publish Date: September 11, 2019

    Governor calls upon Vice Chancellors to make Universities ‘Centres of Excellence’

    The Governor of Maharashtra Bhagat Singh Koshyari today asked Vice Chancellors of all state universities to strive to make their universities centres of excellence by laying thrust on quality of education.

    In his first interaction with Vice Chancellors of 16 state universities after taking charge as Governor held at Raj Bhavan on Wednesday (11th Sept), Governor Koshyari asked all vice chancellors to have brainstorming amongst themselves and come up with suggestions for further improving standards of higher education.

    Noting the fact that there were 73 autonomous colleges and 350 Colleges accredited ‘A grade’ by NAAC, the Governor asked the Vice Chancellors to hasten the process of accreditation by Colleges. He also asked Vice Chancellors to lay thrust on recruitment of good teachers.

    Minister of Higher and Technical Education Vinod Tawde told the Governor that the Maharashtra Public Universities Act 2016 passed by the State Legislature was a student-oriented Act. Stating that some of the universities have upto 800 affiliated colleges, he said the Government is promoting the establishment of cluster universities and autonomous colleges.

    Saurabh Vijay, Secretary, Higher and Technical Education, Dr Suhas Pednekar, Vice Chancellor, University of Mumbai, Dr Nitin Karmalkar, Vice Chancellor, Savitribai Phule Pune University, Dr S P Kane, Vice Chancellor, Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Dr N V Kalyankar, Vice Chancellor, Gondwana University, Dr M G Chandekar, Vice Chancellor, Sant Gadge Baba Amravati University, Dr Udhav Bhosle, Vice Chancellor, Swami Ramanand Teerth Marathwada University, Nanded, Dr Pramod Yeole, Vice Chancellor, Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Marathwada University, Aurangabad, Dr V M Bhale, Vice Chancellor, Dr Panjabrao Deshmukh Krishi Vidyapeeth, Akola, Dr Devanand Shinde, Vice Chancellor, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, Dr D G Mhaisekar, Vice Chancellor, Maharashtra University of Health Sciences, Dr Shriniwas Varakhedi, Vice Chancellor, Kavi Kulaguru Kalidasa Sanskrit University, Ramtek, Dr Smt Mrunalini Fadnavis, Vice Chancellor, Punyashlok Ahilyabai Holkar Solapur University, Dr K P Viswanatha, Vice Chancellor, Mahatma Phule Krishi Vidyapeeth, Rahuri, Dr A M Paturkar, Vice Chancellor, Maharashtra Animal and Fisheries Sciences University, Nagpur, Dr S D Sawant, Vice Chancellor, Dr Balasaheb Sawant Konkan Krishi Vidyapeeth, Dapoli, and Dr A S Dhawan, Vice Chancellor, Vasantrao Naik Marathwada Krishi Vidyapeeth, Parbhani were present.