Dr Sanjay Sawant to be Vice Chancellor of Konkan Krishi Vidyapith

    Publish Date: March 7, 2019

    The Governor of Maharashtra and Chancellor of Universities in the State CH. Vidyasagar Rao has appointed Dr Sanjay Dinanath Sawant as the new Vice Chancellor of Dr Balasaheb Sawant Konkan Krishi Vidpapeeth, Dapoli.

    Dr Sanjay Sawant succeeds Dr Tapas Bhattacharya who had tendered his resignation from the post of Vice Chancellor on 31st August 2018.

    Vice Chancellor of the Mahatma Phule Krishi Vidyapith, Rahuri Dr K. P. Viswanatha was holding additional charge of the post of Vice Chancellor.

    The Governor had constituted a Search Committee under the chairmanship of Justice Dr Manjula Chellur, retired Chief Justice of the Bombay High Court to recommend to him a panel of names suitable for appointment of Vice Chancellor of the University.

    Dr Trilochan Mohapatra, Director General, ICAR, New Delhi and Eknath Davale, Secretary, Agriculture, Government of Maharashtra were other members of the Committee. The Governor announced the name of Dr Sawant after interviewing all the candidates recommended by the Committee.